LibGuides: British Literature: How to Find Academic Journal Articles

Gale Literature Resource Center

You must filter by Literature Criticism to find academic/scholarly journal articles in Gale Literature Resource Center.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
password: dragons
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.

Gale Academic ASAP

Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
password: dragons
Collection of scholarly journals and general interest titles that covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences.
Password: dragons

You must filter results by Academic Journals to find literary criticism in the database Academic ASAP.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

ProQuest

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Username: dragons
Password: dragons
Click "login in through institution." Scroll down to the ProQuest Account icon. Click icon and enter username: dragons password:dragons

Pro Tips:

Search time period.
Search a specific author or work.
Limit results to Scholarly Journals or Peer Reviewed.
Make sure there is a graduation cap icon next to the article.
Try a Publication search to find a journal focused on your time period.

By Request

Find academic journal articles requested by past AP English Lit students. Perhaps the article of your dreams is posted here. You can always request help finding full text academic journal articles!

William Blake

Brontes

Bunyan

Burney

Byron

The Mystery of Distance: Berkeley and Byron

Chaucer

Heroic Code Beowulf
The Christianity of Beowulf
Whallon, William. “The Christianity of ‘Beowulf.’” Modern Philology, vol. 60, no. 2, 1962, pp. 81–94. JSTOR, http://www.jstor.org/stable/434846. Accessed 4 Jan. 2024.

Coleridge

Wilkie Collins

Conrad

Defoe

Eliot. T. S.

T. S. Eliot and the Question of Will in "The Wasteland"

Fielding

Tom Jones -Trials and Shaping of Identity in Tom Jones

Harding

Hardy - Ways of Looking at Tess

Johnson

Johnson "The Plague of the Alchemist"

Kant

Keats

By Request

Find academic journal articles requested by past AP English Lit students. Perhaps the article of your dreams is posted here. You can always request help finding full text academic journal articles!

Malory

Marlowe

Marlowe and Machiavelli

Milton

Milton's Accessible God: The Role of the Son in Paradise Lost
Arnold, Marilyn. “Milton’s Accessible God: The Role of the Son in ‘Paradise Lost.’” Milton Quarterly, vol. 7, no. 3, 1973, pp. 65–72. JSTOR, http://www.jstor.org/stable/24462918. Accessed 8 Jan. 2024.
Rendering More Equal - Eve's Changing Discourse in Paradise Lost
Liebert, Elisabeth. “Rendering ‘More Equal’: Eve’s Changing Discourse in ‘Paradise Lost.’” Milton Quarterly, vol. 37, no. 3, 2003, pp. 152–65. JSTOR, http://www.jstor.org/stable/24464971. Accessed 8 Jan. 2024.
Milton's Strange God: Theology And Narrative Form in ‘Paradise Lost
Fallon, Samuel. “Milton's Strange God: Theology And Narrative Form in ‘Paradise Lost.’” ELH, vol. 79, no. 1, 2012, pp. 33–57. JSTOR, http://www.jstor.org/stable/41337578. Accessed 8 Jan. 2024.
God, Satan and King Charles: Milton's Royal Portraits
Bennett, Joan S. “God, Satan, and King Charles: Milton’s Royal Portraits.” PMLA, vol. 92, no. 3, 1977, pp. 441–57. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/461707. Accessed 1 Feb. 2024.
Milton Satan and Charles I
Hyman, Lawrence W., and Joan S. Bennett. “Satan and Charles I.” PMLA, vol. 93, no. 1, 1978, pp. 118–20. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/461826. Accessed 1 Feb. 2024.

Sir Thomas More

Anti Scholastic Satire in Sir Thomas More's Utopia
Sir Thomas More and the Opposition to Henry VIII
Elton, G. R. "Sir Thomas More and the Oppostion to Henry VIII." Historical Research, vol. 41, no. 103, 1 May 1968, pp. 19-34. Oxford, https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1468-2281.1968.tb01436.x.

Shakespeare

Herbert Spencer

Jonathan Swift

Virginia Woolf

Woolf - Fictions of Absence, Feminism Modernism, Virginia Woolf
Virginia Woolf and Androgyny
Virginia Woolf and Modernist Aesthetics
Emboided Form Art and Form in Virgina Woolf's To the Lighthouse
Koppen, Randi. "Embodied Form: Art and Life in Virginia Woolf's To the Lighthouse." New Literary History, vol. 32 no. 2, 2001, p. 375-389. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.1353/nlh.2001.0017.
Woolf's Metaphysics of Tragjic Vision in To the Lighthouse
"The Earth of Our Earliest Life": Mr. Carmichael in "To the Lighthouse"

British Literature: How to Find Academic Journal Articles

Pro Tips

Gale Literature Resource Center

Gale Academic ASAP

Google Scholar

ProQuest

By Request

William Blake

Brontes

Bunyan

Burney

Byron

Chaucer

Coleridge

Wilkie Collins

Conrad

Defoe

Eliot. T. S.

Fielding

Harding

Johnson

Kant

Keats

By Request

Malory

Marlowe

Milton

Sir Thomas More

Shakespeare

Herbert Spencer

Jonathan Swift

Virginia Woolf

Thomas Wyatt

Literature Overviews

Fifteenth Century

Seventeenth Century

Eighteenth Century

Twentieth Century