LibGuides: British Literature: Sixteenth Century

Databases

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
password: dragons
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Scribner Writers Online This link opens in a new window
password: dragons
Bio-critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context.
Twayne's Authors Online This link opens in a new window
password: dragons
Twayne's is devoted to literary critical interpretation and discussion. It offers in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world, including close analysis of key works. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements.
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras This link opens in a new window
Username: dragonsdragons
Password: dragons
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras covers early human history around the globe—from prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Password: dragons
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
password: dragons
Biography In Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers.
Password: dragons
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
username: dragons
password: dragons

Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.

The Oxford Companion to English Literature by Dinah Birch (Editor)
ISBN: 9780192806871
Publication Date: 2009-11-23
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms by Chris Baldick
ISBN: 9780198715443
Publication Date: 2015-07-14

World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras This link opens in a new window
Username: dragonsdragons
Password: dragons
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras covers early human history around the globe—from prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance.
World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
username: dragonsdragons
password: dragons
username: dragonsdragons
password: dragons

Print Materials in the O'Dowd Library

Browse the 820 -829 section of the library to find print books for the Brit Lit Project. You can also click on the "Library Catalog" link below to search the library catalog. Our print collection includes volumes of the Oxford English Literary History series.

Search Print Books from O'Dowd Library
Find books on the shelves of the Burke Family Library @O'Dowd.

The Short Oxford History of English Literature by Andrew Sanders
Call Number: 820.9 SAN
ISBN: 9780199263387
Publication Date: 2004-11-04
A chronologically arranged introduction to literature of the British Isles from Old English to the post-war era that offers information on major figures, their works, and the relationship between the literary landscape and wider contemporary social, political, and intellectual developments.
Literature and Its Times
Call Number: 809.93358
ISBN: 0787606065
Publication Date: 1997-09-26
Literary Criticism by Charles E. Bressler
Call Number: 801.95
ISBN: 9780131534483
Publication Date: 2006-07-26
The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism by Vincent B. Leitch; William E. Cain (Editor); Laurie Finke (Editor); Barbara Johnson (Editor); John McGowan (Editor); Jeffrey J. Williams (Editor)
Call Number: 801.95
ISBN: 0393974294
Publication Date: 2001-06-19
A Dictionary of Literary and Thematic Terms by Edward Quinn
Call Number: R 803.D52
ISBN: 0816032327
Publication Date: 1999-10-01

Ebook Central

Sign into Ebook Central with your Student ID#. Save relevant titles to your bookshelf.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
eBrary offers ebooks from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas.

Sign into Ebook Central with your Student ID#. Create a bookshelf to save titles relevant to your research.

Search for your topic. Below are just a few samples of books relevant to your time period

A Short History of English Literature by Harry Blamires
ISBN: 9780415050784
Publication Date: 1984-11-16
Civil Society in British History by Jose Harris (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199279104
Publication Date: 2005-09-15
Edmund Spenser's the Faerie Queene by Andrew Zurcher
ISBN: 9780748639571
Publication Date: 2011-05-16
Companion to Thomas More by A. D. Cousins
ISBN: 9780838643143
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Christopher Marlowe, Renaissance Dramatist by Lisa Hopkins
ISBN: 9780748630585
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Christopher Marlowe in Context by Emily Bartels
ISBN: 9781107248380
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The Making of Sir Philip Sidney by Edward Berry
ISBN: 9781442659780
Publication Date: 2016-01-29
Sidney by Martin Garrett
ISBN: 9780203420775
Publication Date: 2002-09-11
Sixteenth-Century Poetry by Gordon Braden (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405101158
Publication Date: 2005-01-14

Open Web Sources

Edmund Spenser Online
This site brings together resources to support the reading, discussion, and enjoyment of Spenser’s works. For those new to Spenser we offer a brief biography and chronology of events, a set of links to online versions of Spenser’s texts, and links to related internet resources for the study of Spenser and his contemporaries. Students and other academic users will be interested in the bibliography, the census of editions, the Finding Aid, the Spenser Review, the Sidney-Spenser Discussion List, and Centering Spenser: A Digital Resource for Kilcolman Castle.
https://www.bl.uk/medieval-literature
Explore unique collection items and expert articles relating to some of the earliest works of English literature and most influential figures in literary history.
British History Online
British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. We aim to support the learning, teaching and research of our users from around the world.

BHO was founded by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust in 2003. Our collection currently contains over 1,270 volumes and is always growing.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Thomas More
Norton Anthology of English Literature

British Literature: Sixteenth Century

Literature to Cover

Databases

Print Materials in the O'Dowd Library

Ebook Central

Open Web Sources