LibGuides: Debate Team: Statistics

Federal Government

FedStats A trusted source for federal statistical information since 1997. FedStats supports a community of practice for over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, and provides the public with a showcase of information, tools and news related to official federal statistics.
United States Census Bureau The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
American FactFinder American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys. For more information see Using FactFinder and What We Provide.
Data.gov As a priority Open Government Initiative for President Obama's administration, Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.
Quick Facts US QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
Agricultural Statistics Data Base - Quick Stats USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service "Quick Stats" statistics database. Select U.S., state, or county data for crops, livestock and other agricultural commodities. Query database by geographic area, search by commodity, or view data in charts or maps. Data sets include Census of Agriculture.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides access to statistics for a variety of U.S. Department of Justice reports and documents as well as some international statistics on crime and criminal justice. Link to data from the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports and download data series. Includes surveys of DNA Crime Laboratories.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Data U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Data access point. Labor statistics include prices, inflation, employment, consumer price indices data and tables.
EPA Data Finder
The site is a single place to find a vast selection of EPA data sources, organized into topics such as air and water that are in easily downloadable formats.
Envirofacts
A one-stop source for environmental information from EPA.
Immigration Statistics - Data and Statistics from the Department of Homeland Security Statistical data from the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics, profiles on legal permanent residents, and on naturalized citizens, mapping information available in pdf as well as downloadable data formats. Statistics include numbers of immigratants, status, country of origin, etc. Data available from 2004, with archived information from the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics back to 1996.

California

California Department of Education Data
Data and statistics collected from California schools and learning support resources to identify trends and educational needs and to measure performance.
DataQuest has Reports for accountability (e.g. API, AYP), test data, enrollment, graduates, dropouts, course enrollments, staffing, and data regarding English learners.
Ed-Data has State, county, district, and school level reports covering topics such as students, staffing, finances, and performance rankings.
California Department of Water Resources Data Links to DWR data and publications include water quality, state water plans, climate data and more.
California Quick Facts From the Census Bureau
Data.CA.GOV - State of California Data Includes links to numeric and geographic data covering a variety of topics including demography, health statistics, state contracts, traffic records. Statistics and data sets are available from state agencies and links are provided to other data sources - local, federal and other sources

Organizations

Diversitydata.org online tool for exploring quality of life data across metropolitan areas for people of different racial/ethnic groups in the United States. It provides values and rankings for the largest U.S. metropolitan areas on different indicators in 8 areas of life (domains), including demographics, education, economic opportunity, housing, neighborhoods, and health. It also provides a simple mapping utility, showing the range of indicator values for metros across the U.S.
diversitydatakids.org diversitydatakids.org is a state-of-the-art research project designed to meet the urgent need for a national, integrated information source that helps us understand: Who our children are, by documenting and tracking the rapidly changing demographics of children and families in the U.S.; What our children need, by establishing a system for monitoring not only child outcomes, but also key factors (including opportunities, conditions, and resources) that drive child outcomes; How to improve opportunities for all children, especially those that may need the most help, by focusing explicitly and rigorously on issues of racial/ethnic and socioeconomic equity in child health and wellbeing.

World Bank Open Data

UNdata UNdata is an internet-based data service which brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point from which users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN System.
World Bank Open Data The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sources. This listing will continue to be updated as additional data resources are added. These resources include databases, pre-formatted tables and reports. Each of the listings includes a description of the data source and a direct link to that source. Where possible, the databases are linked directly to a selection screen to allow users to select the countries, indicators, and years they would like to search. Those search results can be exported in different formats. Users can also choose to download the entire database directly from the catalog.