LibGuides: AWH: Final Project: Research Materials

Quality Open Web Sources

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.
CIA: World Leaders
BBC: Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
Select a country, territory or international organisation from the menus below.
Library of Congress Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
US State Department: Countries and Areas
Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the U.S. State Department's
United Nations: Human Development Reports
Countries and Their Cultures
Detailed profiles of nations around the world and explains the cultural norms and influences on them.
Commisceo
Consulting Agency specializing in training people for cross cultural business opportunities. Our country guides offer free information on 50+ countries giving you a look at the language, people, cultural norms, etiquette tips for business people and taboos to avoid for visitors.

Databases

World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
username: dragonsdragons
password: dragons
username: dragonsdragons
password: dragons
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Password: dragons
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
SIRS: Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
username: dragons
password: dragons
SIRS Issues Researcher is a pro/con database. Leading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources. All content is 100% full-text and selected from authoritative magazines, newspapers, photographs, books, statistics, infographics, websites, and more.
ABC-CLIO This link opens in a new window
username: dragonsdragons
password: dragons

Access all 15 ABC-CLIO social studies databases.
ABC-CLIO World Geography This link opens in a new window
username: dragonsdragons
password: dragons
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Access ID: bohs
Passcode: dragons

Ebooks

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
password: dragons
You’ll find encyclopedias and specialized sources for art, environment, history, law, literature, religion, science, social science.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
ISBN: 0028657691
Publication Date: 2004-06-01
password: dragons

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Sign in with your School ID# or 999655

Ebook Central offers ebooks from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas.

Search for your country. Here are just a few examples of the books you'll find in the Ebook Central collection.

Descending Dragon, Rising Tiger by Vu Hong Lien; Peter Sharrock
ISBN: 9781780233642
Publication Date: 2015-01-15
Unrivaled in scope, this comprehensive account will be the definitive history of the Vietnamese people, their culture, and their nation.
Identities in Crisis in Iran by Ronen A. Cohen (Contribution by, Editor); Harold Rhode (Contribution by); Ofira Seliktar (Contribution by); Ladan Zarabadi (Contribution by); Raz Zimmt (Contribution by); Moshe-Hay S. Hagigat (Contribution by); Farhad Rezaei (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781498506410
Publication Date: 2015-03-18
This book addresses the tension many Iranian people face that lie between the Persian culture and the Shi’a religion, women versus men, and culture versus traditions.
Egypt by Robert L. Tignor
ISBN: 9780691153070
Publication Date: 2011-10-02
This is a sweeping, colorful, and concise narrative history of Egypt from the beginning of human settlement in the Nile River valley 5000 years ago to the present day.
Revolutionary Cuba by Luis Martínez-Fernández; Luis Martínez-Fernández
ISBN: 9780813049953
Publication Date: 2014-10-14
Concise, well written, and accessible, this book is an indispensable survey of the history and themes of the socialist revolution that forever changed Cuba and the world.
Food and Gender in Fiji by Sharyn Jones
ISBN: 9780739134801
Publication Date: 2009-08-13
Author focuses on food procurement on the reef, domestic activities surrounding foodways, and household spatial patterns to explore the meaning of food amongst the Lau Group of Fiji beyond the obvious nutritional and ecological spheres.
A History of Nigeria by Toyin Falola; Matthew M. Heaton
ISBN: 9780521862943
Publication Date: 2008-04-24
This book offers a unique portrayal of a resilient people living in a country with immense, but unrealized, potential.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
username: dragons
password: dragons

Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.

Here are a few examples of reference books you'll find in the Oxford Reference collection.

A Dictionary of Human Geography by Alisdair Rogers; Noel Castree; Rob Kitchin
ISBN: 9780199599868
Publication Date: 2013-06-10
Guide to all aspects of human geography, including cultural, social, developmental, economic, political, and health geography.
Oxford Dictionary of Contemporary World History
ISBN: 9780191890949
This authoritative dictionary provides informative and analytical entries on the most important people, organizations, events, movements, and ideas that have shaped the world we live in.
Oxford Guide to Countries of the World
ISBN: 9780191803000
Each entry provides a brief history of the country and outlines its political, economic, and social issues. A quick-reference fact box provides comparative information on land area, people, language, religion, life expectancy, GDP, and gender equality and environmental performance.

Search Terms

Search Terms: Keep track of the relevant terms you encounter in your research. Set up searches with specific search term and your country name.

The Eras:

Cold War: hostility, communism, anti-communism, detente, influence, ideological split

Decolonization: liberation, independence, colonialism, neo-colonialism, nationalism

Globalization: free trade, neo-colonialism, global economy

Digital Age: information revolution, technology, internet digital divide

The Worlds:

Social World: hierarchy, class structure, status, gender roles, demographics, mobility, ethnicity, ability, equity, access

Political world: government, administration, power, systems, rights, laws

Cultural World: religion, daily life, business and social customs, language, literature, arts

Economic World: GNP, revenue, trade, wealth, manufacturing, production, imports, exports, access

AWH: Final Project: Research Materials

Essential Question

Quality Open Web Sources

Databases

Ebooks

Search Terms