LibGuides: AP English Language and Composition: The Gilded Age: Open Web Sources

Pro Tips

The Open Web contains thousands of excellent sources. It also contains thousands of sources that don't meet O'Dowd's academic standards. It is your responsibility to evaluate sources you find on the Open Web to make sure the source is O'Dowd Worthy. For this project, you will need to make sure the source is authored, published or sponsored by an expert in history, politics, government, public policy, art or architecture. The purpose of the content must be to educate and inform and the content must be high school level or above.

Domain limiter: Search term site:edu
Search Terms: Keep track of the different words/phrases for your topic.
Filter/Limit Results
Set Custom Date Range
Use " " to search for phrase

Chicago

World Columbian Expostion Fair of 1893 (UCLA 3D recreation)
NIU Digital Library: Illinois During the Gilded Age
This site primarily contains materials from Rare Books & Special Collections and the Regional History Center and University Archives, as well as collaborative projects like Lincoln/Net and Mark Twain's Mississippi. We also manage the dime novel digitization project, Nickels and Dimes, and the Southeast Digital Library, which are hosted separately.
The Clash of Wealth and Labor in Chicago's Gilded Age
Art Institute of Chicago: John Singer Sargent and Chicago's Gilded Age
Newberry Library: Chicago Workers during the Long Gilded Age
Newberry Library: Immigration and Citizenship in the United States, 1865-1924
Hull House Museum
The Museum preserves and develops the original Hull-House site for the interpretation and continuation of the historic settlement house vision, linking research, education, and social engagement.
Chicago's Greatest Remaining Gilded Age Mansions
Northwestern University: Florence Kelly
A digital archive on the life and times of Florence Kelley, the first woman factory inspector in the United States and resident of Hull House.
Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection
The Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections are free to search, free to browse, and free to download.There are four collections on this site:
Illinois Newspapers
Farm, Field and Fireside (farm newspapers)
American Popular Entertainment (vaudeville newspapers)
Collegiate Chronicle (student newspapers)

Library of Congress

Library of Congress: Digital Collections
Library of Congress: Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
America's Story: The Gilded Age
The Gilded Age & Progressive Era: Primary Source Documents
African American Identity in the Gilded Age: Two Unreconciled Strivings
Examine the tension experienced by African Americans as they struggled to establish a vibrant and meaningful identity based on the promises of liberty and equality in the midst of a society that was ambivalent towards them and sought to impose an inferior definition upon them.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Websites

Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
University of Houston Digital History: The Gilded Age
using new technologies to enhance teaching and research.
Gilder Lehrman Institute: AP History Study Guide
Gilder Lehrman Institute: The Gilded Age
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History's mission is to promote the knowledge and understanding of American history through educational programs and resources.
National Humanities Center: The Gilded Age and the Gritty
The National Humanities Center is devoted to advancing significant humanistic study and reflection and to making those insights available both inside and outside the academic world.
PBS American Experience: The Gilded Age
In the closing decades of the nineteenth century, during what has become known as the Gilded Age, the population of the United States doubled in the span of a single generation. The Gilded Age presents a compelling and complex story of one of the most convulsive and transformative eras in American history.
UCLA History Professor Joan Waugh's Gilded Age