LibGuides: AWH: Merovich Projects: 2024 Imperialism and Resistance Case Study

Tasks

PROJECT PRESENTATION DUE DATE: OCTOBER 21/22

Research

Use O'Dowd Worthy sources - check the LibGuide, O'Dowd databases and quality Open Web sources.
Gather and store research in one place. Make sure each member can point to the research they contributed.
Create an MLA Works Cited. Use NoodleTools. ABC-CLIO and Gale will export MLA citation directly to NoodleTools.

Google Slides Presentation

10 Slides Max - Including text and images
Title Slide
Historical Context with Map
Imperializing Country: motives and actions
Resistance: methods, results, significance
Effects/Impacts
Legacy of Imperialism

ABC-CLIO

ABC-CLIO

username: dragonsdragons
password: dragons

Britannica High School

Britannica School

Access ID: bohs
Passcode: dragons

Gale World History

Gale Databases

password: dragons

Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference

username: odowd
password: odowd

Angola

Cameroon, SWE and E Africa

Kinjikitile | Encyclopedia of Religion
KINJIKITILE was a religious leader in southeastern Tanganyika (now Tanzania) who provided inspiration for the anticolonial struggles known as the Maji Maji Wars.

Herero Revolt | ABC-CLIO
Hendrik Witbooi Bio | ABC-CLIO
Resistance leader agains German colonization
Dernburg Reforms | ABC-CLIO

The Congo

Ethiopia

Menelik II | African Biography
biography of emperor of Ethiopia who grew suspicious of Italian ambitions in the northern Ethiopian province of Tigre, located on Eritrea's southern border.

Ghana

Libya

Mozambique

Nigeria

Nigeria | ABC-CLIO
overview of the history of Nigeria - including British imperialism and resistance

The Aba Women's War 1929 | Global Events
Women, who traditionally controlled the marketing of hinterland goods such as kola nuts and palm oil at the coast, became increasingly involved in protests and anti-colonial struggles.
Igbo Women's War | Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
The 1929 Igbo Women's War, referred to as Ogu Umunwanyi in Igbo or the Aba Women's Riot by the British colonial authority in Nigeria, was one of the most significant protest movements in the former British Empire.
Nigerian Women's Protest | ABC-CLIO World History Modern Era
1929 Nigerian Women's Protest represents the first major revolt during British colonial rule in Africa organized and led by women.

Sierra Leone

South Africa

Ndebele | Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
background information on history, heritage, culture of the Ndebele people.
Zimbabwe from Oxford Reference Encyclopedia of Africa
background on Ndebele people and rebellions
Zulu Wars Africa | Encyclopedia of Western Colonialis Since 1450
The Anglo-Zulu War of 1879 was fought between Britain and the Zulu nation in South Africa. The war remains one of the most dramatic in both British and southern African history during the colonial period. It marked the end of the independence of the Zulu nation and the entrenchment of British colonialism in South Africa.

Zulu Wars | ABC-CLIO

Xhosa | Oxford Encyclopedia of Africa

Xhosa Wars - Cape Frontier | Britannica High School

Sudan

Bahamas

Haiti

Haitian Revolution | ABC-CLIO Modern History
overview and significance
Haitian Revolution | Gale World History
overview and significance
Haitian Revolution| Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought
The Haitian Revolution was the most radical social revolution in the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries in the Atlantic world and Europe. It was a dual revolution: a revolution against racial slavery (1791–1801) and then a revolution against French colonial domination (1801–1805).
Bogues, Anthony. "Haitian Revolution." The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought. : Oxford University Press, . Oxford Reference. Date Accessed 14 Feb. 2022 .

The Haitian Revolution and Its Causes | World History Project
OER Project empowers teachers to better serve their students through innovative curricula and a variety of teaching tools.
Toussaint Louverture, Haitian Revolutionary Leader | Smithsonian
Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture

Hong Kong

India

Indonesia

Jamaica

Jamaica | Gale World History
Jamaica | ABC CLIO
First Maroon War | ABC-CLIO
Nanny of the Maroons
from Enslaved: Peoples of the Historical Slave Trade

Philippines

Philippines | ABC-CLIO
Philippines | Gale World History
Philippine American War | ABC-CLIO
Jose Rizal
The Philippine Folklife Museum Foundation

Puerto Rico and Cuba

A Historical Overview of Colonial Puerto Rico: The Importance of San Juan as a Military Outpost | NPS
National Park Service. "A Historical Overview of Colonial Puerto Rico: The Importance of San Juan as a Military Outpost." pdf.

New Zealand

Vietnman Cambodia Laos

Imperialism Overview

Colonies and Colonialism | Gale World History
Colonization | ABC-CLIO
overview of European colonization
Imperialism | Britannica
Access ID: bohs
Passcode: dragons
Spheres of Influence | ABC-CLIO
"the attempt by the world's major powers to establish exclusive economic (and sometimes political) domains in areas of the developing world"
Indirect Rule and Colonial Power | ABC-CLIO
Direct Rule and Colonial Power | ABC-CLIO
Decolonization | ABC-CLIO

AWH: Merovich Projects: 2024 Imperialism and Resistance Case Study

Tasks

Angola

Cameroon, SWE and E Africa

The Congo

Ethiopia

Ghana

Libya

Mozambique

Nigeria

Sierra Leone

South Africa

Sudan

Bahamas

Haiti

Hong Kong

India

Indonesia

Jamaica

Philippines

Puerto Rico and Cuba

New Zealand

Vietnman Cambodia Laos

Imperialism Overview

Africa

Caribbean

East Asia and Pacific Islands

Belgian Imperialism

British Imperialism

Dutch Imperialism

French Imperialism

German Imperialism

Italian Imperialism

Portugese Imperialism

United States Imperialism