LibGuides: Race and the Law: Internment & Detention

Legislation

Civil Liberties Act of 1988

Executive Order 9066

Non-Detention Act of 1971

Civil Liberties Act of 1988 from Civil Rights
background information
Civil Liberties Act of 1988 from Major Acts of Congress
the act and commentary
Executive Order 9066 from ABC-CLIO American Government

Reference

Civil Rights and Liberties during Wartime from ABC-CLIO American Government
topic overview with discussion of Korematsu v. United States
Fred Korematsu Biography from ABC-CLIO American Government
The Internment of Japanese Americans from American Decades
discusses Korematsu v. United States
Executive Order from American Governance

Databases

The articles posted on the Race and Law LibGuide come from ABC-CLIO, CQ Researcher and Gale databases. The posted articles are just a few of the many materials available on the databases. Search the databases for additional information or if you prefer to read a webpage rather than a pdf.

Questions? Ask Ms. Counts or Ms. Irwin

ABC-CLIO
username: dragonsdragons
password: dragons

Access all 15 ABC-CLIO social studies databases.
CQ Researcher
username: odowd
password: odowd
Gale Databases
password: dragons
Click here for access to all our 18 Gale subject databases: history, literature, biography, government, science, environment, health and wellness, testing

Open Web Sources

United States Supreme Court
United States Department of Justice
United States House of Representatives
United States Senate
The White House
Government website with Trump's policies and history of the presidency and the White House.
University of Virginia: Center for the Study of Race and Law
Center examines and exchanges ideas related to race and law through lectures, symposia and scholarship.

In the News

California Considers Reparations for Black Americans from USA Today
discusses reparations and includes role of Korematsu V. United States in gaining reparations for Japanese Americans

Commentary

Will Supreme Court Power be Clipped - Los Angeles Times.
looks at Biden's commission to study the power of the Supreme Court, mentions Korematsu V. U.S., argues in favor of judicial review but with reminder: American democracy is neither perfect nor beyond improvement.

Race and the Law: Internment & Detention